Really Good Basic Hummus Recipe

A couple days ago I posted a recipe for Roasted Apple & Carrot Hummus. It was very good, and the sweetness from the apples actually mellowed after a day or so (always the case with hummus… The flavours become much subtler and more delicious overnight). I mentioned that I eat an awful lot of hummus, but I didn’t say how I eat it, or give my recipe. So I thought today I’d post both my hummus recipe, and my hummus sandwich recipe (my preferred form of hummus intake: I’ve been eating a hummus sandwich for lunch pretty much every weekday for the last 6 months or so).

So here we go, my basic hummus recipe…


 

image

Really Good Basic Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ c cooked chickpeas (about 1 can or ½ c dry, soaked and cooked)
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • ¼ c tahini
  • ¼ c lemon juice
  • ¼ c + 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp whole cumin seed
  • 1 tsp whole mustard seed
  • about ¾ tsp salt, to taste

Method

  1. Heat 1 Tbsp olive oil over medium-high heat. Toast mustard and cumin seeds until mustard seeds begin to pop, then remove from hot pan immediately.
  2. Finely mince garlic.
  3. Place spices, garlic, and remaining ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth. You may need to add a bit of water or cooking liquid from the beans (not the liquid from canned chickpeas), depending on how powerful your blender is. Be careful not to add too much if you’re planning to make a sandwich with your hummus, you need it to be thick! Adjust salt to taste.

 


 

image

Today’s sandwiches, with some cress and mustard greens growing in a takeaway container

 

I started making hummus sandwiches ages ago, originally to replicate something I had once in a cafe in Halifax, Nova Scotia, when I was a student and too poor to eat in a cafe whenever I was craving a sandwich. I think they made their sandwich on a bagel (which I sometimes do, but it’s awfully messy), and I’ve probably modified the ingredient list over the years.

I use sprouts, and this is important. If you try to substitute lettuce, the hummus will just squish out of the sandwich. It’s also important to use a relatively thick hummus on a sandwich, as I noted in the hummus recipe above. You can use whatever sprouts you like, but I usually use a mixture of alfalfa and Daikon radish sprouts, which I sprout in a jar on the counter (easy to do, and much cheaper and fresher/tastier than the sprouts from the grocery store). The sandwiches pictured here have some onion sprouts as well, because I bought a bunch of onion seed for sprouting, but I’ve found onion sprouts to be a bit of a pain. I also have some cress and mustard greens on these sandwiches, because lately I’ve been growing microgreens (of which my favourite is rocket, but it’s a bit of a pain to wash, and the cress and mustard are ready to be harvested).

I’m not going to bother with quantities for this recipe. It sort of annoys me when people do that… I trust that you’ll use amounts of everything that you find suitable. One note, though: I use a lot of hummus. Also a lot of sprouts. If I ask, Steffen will tell me that I’ve used too much on his sandwich. Oh, and this sandwich is pretty good with the Roasted Apple & Carrot Hummus too. I prefer to toast my sandwich, but I’ve made a few untoasted sandwiches on baguette for my brother and sister-in-law recently. If you’re not vegetarian, you can add various forms of meat that you think might be compatible (I’ve eaten this with leftover roast chicken, and even leftover burger patties… an ex-boyfriend insisted that this sandwich would be best with bacon, but much as I love bacon, I’ve stubbornly refused to go there).

 

image

Usually I’m too lazy to cut these sandwiches, so this one’s for you, gentle reader!

 


 

Hummus Sandwiches

Ingredients

  • Good quality relatively sturdy bread or bagel(s)
  • Sharp cheddar
  • Dijon mustard
  • Hummus (see recipe above, or store bought)
  • Sprouts and/or greens

Method

  1. Toast the bread under the broiler (grill) with the cheese on one side. If you feel like being fancy, drizzle the other half with olive oil first.
  2. Spread the cheeseless slice of bread with Dijon mustard, then top with a substantial quantity of hummus.
  3. Top the hummus with sprouts/greens and then put your sandwich together.

 

image

Cress and mustard greens on the left, sprouts on the right

Leave a Reply

