Roasted Apple & Carrot Hummus

I’m still finding feeding a toddler to be one of the most frustrating things I’ve ever attempted. I often say that Tommy survives on hummus and smoothies. This is actually a huge exaggeration, and if I’m not being ridiculous, I’ll admit that hummus and smoothies are probably a fairly balanced diet. So the problem is really all in my head, but in my head it’s a huge problem.

Anyway. One thing that bugs me about the hummus and smoothie diet is that Tommy flat out refuses to eat the hummus I make. I think my hummus is delicious (I don’t drink smoothies very often, but hummus is a big part of my diet, too). I also think my hummus is probably healthier than the store-bought roasted carrot and honey hummus Tommy likes best. There’s also an issue with the honey, because we need a lot of Tommy’s leftovers to Miso, and you aren’t supposed to feed babies honey until their first birthday (infant botulism, blah, blah, blah).

So I’ve been trying to produce a hummus that will fool Tommy. My brother has been visiting for the last few weeks, and he’s a terrific cook, so I initially put him on it. He made a roasted carrot hummus that was pretty amazing, but it wasn’t sweet enough to get Tommy on board.

image

Yesterday I was cooking some chickpeas to whip up a batch of my standard hummus, so I set aside a cup and decided to try again. I roasted some carrots along with a couple apples for sweetness and mixed up the following concoction. It’s pretty good. Steffen says it’s indistinguishable from the store-bought stuff, and while I won’t swear to that, I think it might fool Tommy. So far he hasn’t been willing to try it… Miso likes it, though. I’m going to try putting it in a leftover hummus tub from the grocery store before giving it to Tommy again. A bit of a warning: this is pretty sweet. If I made it for grownups I might add only one apple instead of two. Also, if I make it again, I might add a small roasted onion as well, and maybe roast the garlic (and maybe add more of it).

image


Roasted Apple & Carrot Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 c cooked chickpeas
  • ¾ lb carrots, peeled and roughly chopped (about 6 small)
  • 2 apples, peeled, quartered, and cored
  • ¼ c olive oil
  • ¼ c lemon juice
  • ¼ c sesame tahini
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • ½ Tbsp fresh ginger, minced or grated
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • about 1 tsp salt (to taste)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 300°F (150°C).
  2. Place carrots and apples in a small roasting pan and cover tightly with foil. Roast for an hour or until carrots are quite soft. Cool slightly then transfer to a blender or food processor. Make sure you don’t miss any apple and carrot juice that have dribbled out into the pan.
  3. Add remaining ingredients and blend until smooth. Adjust seasoning.
Leave a Reply

