Cardamom hoodies are here!

Cardamom is that hoodie: the one your kid wears every day for three seasons each year until it finally wears out (optimistically, if that kid will just stop growing for 2 seconds) or gets outgrown and you make another. Sizing ranges from 6 months to 10 years. I’ve made two (a size 18 months for Miso and size 3 for Tommy) and I can tell already that I’m going to be knitting a lot of these in the next few years.

The Cardamom pattern is available on my Ravelry store. Buy it now for $6 (NZD). I’ve included directions for both jacket and pullover versions, both of which have similar styling elements: linen stitch button bands, kangaroo pockets, and a snug, rounded hood.

boys

And now some excuses, and a bit about what I’m knitting at the moment (including a Year of the Frog update).

I promised myself I’d finish this pattern two weeks ago, after having wanted to finish it by the end of October, but then I was a little slow, and then visits with family happened (my Dad for all of November, my brother & co now), and it just wasn’t the priority it should have been.

And if I’m being honest, I also got really into frogging those three projects from way back that I hated… Yes, I got started early on that particular New Year’s resolution.

The biggest problem was that whenever I frogged a project I got very excited about what I was going to do with the liberated yarn, so I wanted to start knitting four[1] projects simultaneously. So far I’ve swatched for one[1] and started another, a long coat that I was knitting with two strands of DK (Sanguine Gryphon Traveller) held together. I then decided I wanted the coat to be lighter, so I frogged it again, after almost completing half the front. Oh well. I want something I’ll wear.

wp-1450567865622.jpg

A pocket lining for Véronique Avery’s Emerson coat (with only a single strand of Traveller)

wp-1450567561217.jpg

A swatch for (I think) a short-sleeved cardigan with a scoop neckline (there’ll be less green in the finished object and I’m not sure about the stitch pattern for the sleeves yet)


  1. I also acquired some lovely yarn from my neighbour, and a bag of all sorts of things from the family we donate milk to, a pair of which inspired another project I have to start right away.
One thought on “Cardamom hoodies are here!

Leave a Reply

