Introducing Māhuri

This isn’t a new design, but I’ve only just finished the pattern (at long last, after more work than you might expect), so it is at long last available from my Ravelry store. Buy it now for $5 (NZD, which is like 12¢ US these days).

Tommy, about to forcibly "cuddle" Miso, in their size 24 and 6 month Māhuri leggings, respectively

Tommy, about to forcibly “cuddle” Miso, in their size 24 and 6 month Māhuri leggings, respectively

Māhuri[1] is a warm little pair of footed leggings, perfect for the coming chilly winter nights (in the northern hemisphere, anyway… for those of you down here in the southern hemisphere, you have plenty of time to knit these for next winter). They’re sized from newborn to 24 months, and they’re designed to fit snugly enough to wear under pajamas. We had them on our little ones all winter: onesie and Māhuri leggings next to their skin with PJs on top.

The range of sizes, all in row.

The range of sizes, all in row.

These are really lovely. I’d love to make them in adult sizes (I’ve had requests), but man, that’d be a lot of work. Especially for Steffen’s 6’2″ legs[2].

Tommy's feet in the original 12 month size Māhuri leggings, in Dirty Water Dyeworks Lillian

Tommy’s feet in the original 12 month size Māhuri leggings, in Dirty Water Dyeworks Lillian

The yarn I’ve recommended for these is Schoppel Wolle Zauberball 100, which is 100% wool for warmth, and is fun to knit with (it’s multicoloured, but colour sections are really long, so the anticipation of a colour change lasts a long time. I think these things are fun, anyway). Also, if you’re a bit OCD about matching the colours on the two legs[3], it’s do-able, because the colour changes are symmetrical (at least for the colourways I used) so you can find the matching section from the other end of the ball. But anyway, the first pair of these I knitted were in Dirty Water Dyeworks Lillian, which I believe I got from Cookie A’s sock club at some point. It’s slightly heavier, I think, a true fingering weight, while I feel that Zauberball 100 is a light fingering weight. I liked the weight of the Lillian version slightly better, but I really love Zauberball 100 colours. I think it’s important to use 100% wool, but apart from that, choose a yarn that gives you a fabric you like at the required gauge (which is always how you should choose yarn, right?)


    My arm. It says "freedom". Really.

    My arm. It says “freedom”. Really.

  1. Māhuri is Māori word for sapling. I liked the idea of little baby legs as tiny trees, but also the idea of a sapling as a metaphor for a growing child. I don’t speak Māori at all, and I’m not entirely sure I have the right word. I’m reminded of people who get kanji tattoos that say unfortunate things. Yes, I actually have a kanji tattoo. I’m certain it says “freedom” and not, I don’t know, “stupid twat” or something entirely unintended.
  2. That is, he’s 6’2″ tall. His legs are obviously shorter. But still awfully long. I can’t even imagine how much wool that would require. We’d have to tap into the kids’ university fund.
  3. I try not to obsess about these things, but since I was planning to photograph these leggings for the pattern, I let myself obsess this time.
Leave a Reply

