Baby Crotch

image

The PJs before my cleverness was applied.

I’m designing a pair of pajamas for my nephew. They’re going to have a bit of Argyle colourwork, but they’re a simple top down raglan with longies attached.

I invented something cool for these PJs and I want to share. I’m loosely basing the bottom half on Shannon Passmore’s Ultimate Longies. The longies have a gusset in the crotch, which is pretty common in baby clothes. It’s worked in the round by increasing on either edge of the gusset every round in the middle of the front and back of the crotch, then grafting the two sides (front and back)  together.

For the PJs, there are a few problems with this approach. They’ll be open between the legs (with snaps to close them), so the crotch gusset has to be worked on the back part of the crotch only.  I cast off the front crotch when I start the increases for the (back) gusset, so then I work the gusset flat, which means I can’t comfortably use knit f&b increases like the longies pattern does (I can, but I’d have to do them in a slightly screwy way on the WS so that they could still produce an attractive gusset). So I’ve changed to m1 increases instead. Then I need to do something to make the end of the gusset bulge out in a diamond shape. I could just work decreases, but I don’t like the way they look, and I don’t want to break the yarn when I’m done, so I’m using short rows.

Finally, I DON’T WANT TO BREAK THE YARN WHEN I’M DONE, but casting off the normal way would be too tight, particularly with the short rows. So I’m using an Icelandic bind off, which I’ve just discovered, and it’s wonderful. 
image

I’m quite pleased with this gusset. It worked out exactly the way I hoped it would, with only one tiny glitch (very tiny: I tried to cast off a row earlier than I needed to and had to undo maybe 15 stitches).

Leave a Reply

