Knitting Injuries

image

There's a hole in my finger, dear Liza, dear Liza... The needles are too sharp, dear Liza, dear Liza

Is it just me, or do other knitters endure assorted problems with their hands? I have long suspected that I have a wool sensitivity (hats generally make my forehead unbearably itchy sometimes, and there have been sweaters that I can’t wear unless there are at least two layers between sweater and skin). I just love wool so much, I don’t want to admit it.

I get nasty eczema on my hands. I’ve tried blaming it on washing dishes, but the correlation just isn’t there. It definitely IS exacerbated by various other cleaning products (especially anything containing bleach), but I have a sneaking suspicion that the incessant rubbing of wool against my fingers isn’t helping matters.

My eczema is only a little bit bad at the moment, but because the skin on my fingers is dry and brittle, it’s more susceptible to other injuries… Like getting stabbed with a knitting needle. I’m using Hiya Hiya Sharp Interchangeables for Tommy’s jacket. I don’t even need them to be sharp for this project (it’s actually more irritating, because I’m knitting with Vintage Purls Max, which is fairly loosely spun, and I split the yarn all the time). I have a set of regular (not sharp) Hiya Hiyas as well, but the 4mm is occupying some other project at the moment.

Anyway. Ow. But I’m slowly making my way through this jacket, injuries be damned!

3 thoughts on “Knitting Injuries

  1. I struggle with my Hiyahiya needles being a bit sharper than expected as well. I’ve even had knitting injuries to prove it. I worry about wool allergies too. Refuse to accept them though. As far as I’m concerned it’s the dust that lands on the yarn that’s irritating. Which isn’t very far reaching since a project I recently frogged had some horribly kicked up fuzz bunnies of fiber pill coming off it.

    Like

    • Your comment somehow reminded me of a woman I used to knit with who had an unidentified chronic lung problem that she reluctantly admitted was probably caused by inhaling fibre particles while spinning… Crazy. Makes our injuries seem pretty tolerable!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

