Wild Thing

image

The last of the Year of the Babies project is done! Steffen’s cousin’s baby boy, Nils, was born back in July, so this is the one gift that didn’t get knitted before the baby arrived. As a result, I sort of went all out and made both a wolf hoodie (and crown) and a wild thing toy.

image

Miso, modelling the hoodie

In retrospect, one of the babies born this year (a week ago, in fact) is named Max, so I should have made a wolf hoodie for him. Oh well.

image

The wild thing checking out our parsley tree

And the last of the Year of the Baby babies was born last week, too. My nephew Argyle was born last Friday.

However… A couple from the antenatal group we were in before Tommy was born is currently pregnant, due in December. So there could be another baby who I MIGHT knit for this year. We’ll see. I need to start knitting bigger things for Argyle (and Miso and Tommy, of course).

The baby due in December is interesting. The mother told me that her first baby (now almost 2) was a “miracle baby”: she and her husband tried for years to get pregnant, including a few rounds of IVF, then gave up, and randomly got pregnant 5 years later (I think she was 40 when he was born). Now she’s pregnant again… They’re missionaries in Kenya, so I’m guessing this isn’t an IVF baby. Or maybe it is. I’ve sort of stayed in touch with the mother, but we’re not close enough that I feel comfortable asking.

Anyway, so the baby gifts are maybe done for the moment! Phew!

3 thoughts on “Wild Thing

Leave a Reply

