This jacket is ridiculous

I’m still working slowly but surely on Tommy’s new jacket. Slowly because things keep interfering with my knitting time (those pesky kids!)

image

The completed left front, featuring Tommy's hand removing the blocking pins

I finished the left front a couple days back. As I was working on it, I realized it was ridiculous: it looks simple, but I was working four different stitch patterns at the same time, one of which was on a smaller gauge needle, and two of which had different row gauges from the other two and required short rows to compensate. Oh, and I was double knitting pockets. With a twisted stitch pattern in front[1].

image

The double knit pocket in progress

For “fun”[2] I charted to the top of the pocket. I’m pretty happy with it so far (the knitting, not the chart, which has at least one major mistake: I worked the k2tog two stitches in from the pocket edge, not right at the edge). I think I’m going to have to chart the whole front though (that is, both fronts), because the diagonal transition to stocking stitch also requires short rows 8 out of 10 rows.

image

The left pocket chart


  1. Which I should have done with a couple cable needles, but they make my hands feel clumsy, so I try to figure out ways to avoid them. In this case, the stitches were travelling to the right, so I just knitted the third stitch, twisted the first in front of the second, which I then slipped wyif, then purled the final (originally first) stitch.
  2. It was not fun. But I’m thinking of writing this up as a pattern, so I’m trying to keep good notes. It won’t be for the faint of heart, if I manage it.
6 thoughts on “This jacket is ridiculous

  1. I want to be like you when I grow up! First I thought the knitting looked cool, then I read what all you had to do at once to get there, and then, if I’m reading correctly YOU made up the pattern?! Yup, one day I will be on the level to look at said chart madness and not back away quickly out of fear. I might even be it’s maker.

    Like

    • Thanks, that’s really nice! I only started to think about designs about a year and a half ago, but now that I’ve started I can’t stop. There’s a great book by Sally Melville called Knitting Pattern Essentials that really helped me think about how horizontal and vertical lines fit together. It’s a great book, you should check it out no matter how advanced you are, it will make you relate to patterns differently!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve had design ideas and have sketches but have not the slightest clue about how to implement them so I’ll definitely check out that book. Maybe it’ll help m3 be able to actually work out what I envision in my head.

        Like

Leave a Reply

