Breakfast Emergency

image

I haven’t written much lately, and what I’ve written hasn’t been about knitting. This is mostly because I’ve been knitting like a crazy person to get through my Year of the Baby projects. And today I’m going to write about food, and not knitting. More precisely, I’m writing about feeding toddlers. Feeding them breakfast.

Tommy used to eat everything. This lasted until he was maybe 10 months old, and he’s become progressively pickier since then. Apparently this is pretty typical, but it’s super annoying. It’s especially problematic at breakfast time, because a) we aren’t morning people, so we tend to eat the same thing every day to avoid having to think, and b) toddlers are severely hangry when they wake up, so feeding them is a matter of real urgency. And sometimes our communication isn’t great in the morning: Tommy had a serious tantrum at the end of his swimming lesson today, which I’m pretty sure was because (I discovered after) Steffen had only managed to get him to eat a mandarin in the 4 ½ hours or so that he’d been awake. Oh, he’d nibbled a little cheese off his toast. And a bite of banana.

He also seems to be extra picky in the morning, and we’ve basically run out of things to feed him. OK, I’m exaggerating, but it feels that way sometimes. We’ve decided to spend the weekend cooking a shit ton of breakfast foods that we can test on Tommy (added bonus: if we make things we can freeze or things that last several days we’ll have a delicious variety of exciting things for our own breakfasts). In the meantime, I remembered a recipe I made up and posted on vegweb.com, a vegan website that’s been around almost as long as the internet itself. Here’s an updated version of Millet Energy Balls:

Millet Energy Balls

  • ½ c peanut butter
  • ¼ c honey
  • ¼ c golden syrup (or corn syrup, or just use honey)
  • 3 c puffed millet
  • ½ c each: unsweetened coconut, unsalted peanuts, sesame seeds, sunflower seeds, dried currants
  1. Heat peanut butter, honey, and syrup together over low heat until warm and slightly runny (you can almost certainly do this in a microwave, but I don’t have one, so I won’t give advice on timing).
  2. Mix remaining ingredients in a large bowl.
  3. Add peanut butter mixture and mix well.
  4. With greased hands, form into balls of whichever size you like. Chill, unless your house is cold.

Note that “greased hands” is important. I think I’ll try making these into bars next time, shaping them into balls was more of a pain than I remembered.

I worry a little about the ethics of sending Tommy to daycare with peanuts on his breath. Presumably if any of the other kids are so allergic that peanut butter breath could kill them the daycare would be more specific about their no-peanut policy, right?

I made these today, I’m really hoping Tommy gets to daycare with a full belly tomorrow (so hopefully no tantrums en route)! Also that one day I stop feeling like a negligent parent all the time.

Leave a Reply

